Health & Beauty

List of Common Aged Care Jargon and Concepts

Aged care is an industry that concerns everyone in Australia since it is part of the country’s health system. That is why the government has multiple regulations concerning this sector. The concept of aged care, however, is not clearly understood by a number of families due to its plethora of jargon and concepts. For your family to find aged care that fits you best, it’s necessary to be familiar with the jargon, acronyms, and concepts that are relevant to this type of healthcare service. From simple phrases, like privately funded care services, to unfamiliar acronyms, like CIS, here are terms that you will encounter and need to understand:

ACAT or Aged Care Assessment Team

This is the government body which is responsible for providing older Australians with aged care assessments to review their needs and to check if they are eligible for living in any type of old peoples homes.

In Victoria, it is called ACAS or aged care assessment service. This is required before applying for in-home care assistance, permanent residential care, and any other type of aged care.


RAD or Refundable Accommodation Deposit is related to one of the two types of aged care fees (accommodation fees and care fees). It used to be called “aged care bond” and can amount to hundreds of thousands of dollars. When a client exits a facility, the RAD is usually refunded in full to the resident or to their family or estate.


This is also called short-term care and is an arrangement where carers can take a break from their caring responsibilities or for the person being cared for to stay for a while at a residential facility. It is also used by potential residents to experience life at an aged care community to get to know the facility better.

Older Australians deemed eligible for this service through an ACAT assessment can use up to 63 days of respite every year.

Income & Assets Assessment

Before entering an aged care facility, you have to fill out a Centrelink/DVA form. The government uses this as a basis for determining if you need to pay an accommodation fee as well as what other fees you have to shoulder.


This stands for Daily Accommodation Payment. This is, in fact, the accommodation fee but counted as a daily fee instead of a lump sum. The amount can be paid monthly. It may also be deducted from the RAD while the resident is still staying in the facility.


CIS means Complaints Investigation Scheme. This is the agency tasked to investigate any complaints regarding residential aged care.


CHSP is Commonwealth Home Support Program. This is intended for people who are 65 years old and above and who are Aboriginal, as well as for Torres Strait Islanders who are 50 years or older.


RAS refers to the Regional Assessment Service. These are the assessors who will visit your home and evaluate which services you are eligible for under the CHSP.


This stands for Home Care Packages. It is a group of services that the Australian government funds to support the elderly for the long term so they can continue living in their own home.

Privately Funded Care Services

Privately funded care services are residential aged care facilities that are not funded by the government. These can come as supported or assisted living complexes, serviced apartments, or independent living units.

Generally, an elderly does not require approval by ACAT/ACAS to live in these facilities.

It can be easier to understand your rights and privileges for aged care with the help of senior living specialists.

Arcare, for example, delivers aged care services and provides senior living communities for residents in New South Wales, Queensland, and Victoria.

If you live in these regions, you can visit the aged care website, get in touch with their team, and get more info that you can use.